The Lives of the Dead

Some of the most interesting people I meet are dead…

Your Path

Originally published March 9, 2015

a-path-in-the-woods-in-autumn

Fi

Maybe you see or experience something when you’re young which seems insignificant at the time, but as you get older, you realize it has shaped the whole of your thinking. Perhaps,  as you move through life, a casual word stirs an epiphany.  A minor encounter sets something large in motion.

And there are relationships, circumstances, great successes and tragedies,  which feel at the time as if they are going to change everything but in the end have very little impact on your trajectory.  Looking back,  you can see that your your life would have turned out essentially the same, regardless of these things.

Your path is your path. You will become what you were meant to become. You will have the experiences you were meant to have.

What you take from them is your free choice.

If you are enjoying this blog,  please click the link to subscribe and receive posts via email (new posts every three days).  Think of others who might enjoy it too,  and help spread the word! Post your favorite stories to social media.   Email a particularly apt link to a friend.   Even better,  talk about the concepts with others (whether you agree or disagree. )
Also,  I have just started a discussion group on Facebook,  for conversations about any of the concepts/issues in the posts.  Honestly, these are things in here which I don’t fully understand myself.  I would love  get your thoughts on this…even if you think this is all a bunch of hooey! 
Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Your Path

  1. Janet Pipes on said:

    Now you’re trying to make me remember that far back!

    • I can remember relationships with people who were SOOO important to me at the time, and now I barely remember them. But I also remember small, off the cuff comments that have stayed with me my entire life. For example, when I was a mere lass in my 20s, a wise woman teacher I had said to me, “Love is unconditional but relationships have conditions.” And in an instant, all kinds of things became clear to me. I never again mistook love for a relationship or vice versa, nor did I allow people to mistreat me even though I loved them unconditionally. It made sorting things out so much easier and has served me well throughout my life. That one off hand comment has resonated throughout my life.

      I HOPE readers find such “gems” in these posts. If so, they have served their purpose.

Leave a Reply

